A Little Word from Amy at The Little Honey Bee

If you're like me, and my friend Amy over at The Little Honey Bee, the idea of a muffin immediately conjures an image of a dense, buttery baked good loaded with fat and sugar. But with this vegetable-based paleo version, you'll be enjoying breakfast muffin bliss in no time.

If you’re like me, and my friend Amy over at The Little Honey Bee, the idea of a muffin immediately conjures an image of a dense, buttery baked good loaded with fat and sugar. But with this vegetable-based paleo version, you’ll be enjoying breakfast muffin bliss in no time.

Happy Sunday, all! I’m so thrilled to be featuring my friend Amy from The Little Honey Bee this week. She’s a major inspiration for all you healthy eaters out there, and I asked her to share her story with you – plus, a delicious vegetarian, grain-free, gluten-free recipe that will satisfy your sweet tooth without any added guilt.

As Amy puts it, we’re all busy bees, and it can be really difficult to balance healthy eating with our hectic, nonstop lives. A bite that can be made ahead of time and eaten on the go usually means unhealthy take-out or an unsatisfying granola bar loaded in sugar and seriously lacking in nutrition.

Each of Amy’s healthy Zucchini Muffins are low in carbohydrates (only 12 grams per muffin, when compared to the almost 30 grams you might find in any old granola bar) and are naturally high in Vitamin E. Stack this recipe against a VitaMuffin or bakery equivalent, and there’s no comparison. These muffins have half the sugar and a third of the sodium, and none of the unpronounceable mystery ingredients major companies use to mass-produce their baked goods.

Healthy, whole ingredients are at the center – literally – of these muffins. And it was this discovery that led Amy to makeover her pantry, and her eating habits. Here’s Amy’s story – I hope it inspires you as much as it inspired me.

Amy, founder of The Little Honey Bee and a true health and fitness inspiration, knows that happiness comes from making good decisions for your body, and your life.

Amy, founder of The Little Honey Bee and a true health and fitness inspiration, knows that happiness comes from making good decisions for your body, and your life.

Hi little word readers! My name is Amy and I blog over at The Little Honey Bee — yay for little love! I was so excited when Melanie asked me to write a post to share with you. Melanie’s recipes and reviews are wonderful and we often discussed our foodie adventures while living in Boston.

My blog is only a few months young, but my goal is to share recipes, workouts, and tips about maintaining a healthy lifestyle while being a very busy little bee! I strive to eat as naturally as possible and sweat as often as possible.

However, I did not always live this way. Well, the sweating part was a part of my life because I was (well am!) an athlete; I played all kinds of sports growing up but found a passion for basketball. I pursued basketball and ended up moving down to Boston (from Toronto, Canada) to major in Communications and play for four years at Emerson College.

While college is a wonderful time, it is not exactly the “healthiest” situation. The abundance of dining hall food, frat party alcohol and the combination of these two resulted in a few too many extra pounds. Beer, pasta, cookies, late night eating and my notorious “Sun Chip binges” (aka, I would buy a large bag and eat the whole thing…) rounded out my five-foot tall self.

To be honest, this was fine for basketball: yes I was not the speediest but I was strong. But this was not fine for me. I did not feel happy and I wanted to make a change. I was not entirely sure where to start, but in my junior year when I moved off campus, had my own kitchen and had control over groceries, cooking, etc,. I made a few significant lifestyle changes.

I discovered a passion for cooking, frequented the farmer’s market, and focused on eating real food (eliminating the processed stuff). I coupled this with running, drinking more water, and doing yoga. All of these things made me, and continue to make me, feel happy. Losing the weight was the added bonus. The real gain was my happiness and confidence.

Well, enough of my blabbing…recipe time! I’m always looking to satisfy my sweet tooth in a healthy way. I happen to loveeee muffins but I know that most (despite clever marketing) are often loaded with fat, calories and sugar. Who says you can’t sneak some veggies into a delicious muffin?! Not me 🙂 I do hope you enjoy these deliciously easy peasy muffins. Each contains approximately 135 wholesome calories — not the kind that leaves you hungry five minutes later. Happy baking!

Zucchini Muffins – Create Your Own Bite #25

Adapted from Taylor Made it Paleo

1 Egg

2 Tablespoon Liquid Egg Whites

1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil, Melted

1/4 Cup Honey

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1 Cup Zucchini, Shredded (About 1 Small Zucchini)

1 Cup Bob’s Red Mill Almond Flour (The very best for boosting protein while keeping calorie counts low).

1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder

Pinch of Salt

Makes 9 Muffins

Estimated Calories: 135

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix egg, egg whites, coconut oil, honey and vanilla until combined.
  3. Add the zucchini and mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the almond flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  5. Add the almond flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix well.
  6. Pour batter into a muffin tin lined with baking cups.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes; insert a toothpick in the center and ensure it comes out clean.
Satisfying enough to serve as a meal, but sweet enough to make you feel as though you're indulging, this recipe is a great little bite to add to your repertoire!

Satisfying enough to serve as a meal, but sweet enough to make you feel as though you’re indulging, this recipe is a great little bite to add to your repertoire!

Amy’s delicious recipes aren’t the only thing she’s sharing with her readers at The Little Honey Bee. She’s a fitness fiend developing fun, innovative workouts that anyone can easily incorporate into their daily routine. Because as we all know, healthy living can’t just stop at the calorie count.

Thank you again to Amy for joining me this week at Little Word Bites!

Until next time,

Melanie

