Bean and Beet Burgers – CYOB

Brown rice, beets and garbanzo beans create an earthy, slightly nutty burger that is set in perfect contrast by sharp feta and lemon vinaigrette.

Brown rice, beets and garbanzo beans create an earthy, slightly nutty burger that is set in perfect contrast by sharp feta and lemon vinaigrette.

 

Create Your Own Bite #19

3 Tbs Brown Rice, Cooked

3 Baby Beets, Boiled or Roasted, Chopped Fine

1 Clove Garlic, Minced

1/2 Spanish Onion, Chopped Fine

1/2 Cup Garbanzo Beans, Cooked

2 Tsp Apple Cider Vinegar

Juice of 1/4 Lemon

2 Tsp Olive Oil

2 Tsp Cilantro, Chopped Fine

1/4 Tsp Coriander

1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger

Pinch of Sweet Basil

Salt and Pepper, To Taste

2 Tsp Fat Free Crumbled Feta

This makes 2 patties, 1 per serving.

Estimated Calories: 185

Hello, everyone! I decided to post today, because I had the day off, making today my Sunday, and yesterday more like a second Saturday.

A few weeks ago, I happened upon this recipe from The Kitchn, a borrowed bite from the Northstar Cafe in Columbus, Ohio.  I’ve never been to Columbus, but I’ve only heard good things.  Last night, I went out for my Second-Saturday with an old friend from high school who came to visit, and I learned that she’s moving to Columbus.

Train of thought = A Little Word on Bean and Beet Burgers.

These burgers are wonderfully low in calories, especially when compared to the amount of fiber and protein per serving.  I topped my burgers with a teaspoon of fat free feta, respectively, and served them over fresh chard with honey lemon vinaigrette.

With nearly all the ingredients for this dish conveniently sitting in my fridge and on my countertop, I couldn’t resist trying this recipe out. While I’ve always been grateful for my Morningstar stockpile, ready at a moment’s notice, I’ve been waiting for a while to try my hand at my own veggie burgers.

With a few improvisations, to add my own culinary flair to these bites, I created a slightly more Mediterranean-style meal.

To make your own burgers, begin by preparing the rice, allowing it to overcook slightly. While the rice is cooking, usually 30-40 minutes, begin preparing your other ingredients.

Beets, beans, and a variety of spices make for rich flavor and a texturally-interesting burger.

Beets, beans, and a variety of spices make for rich flavor and a texturally-interesting burger.

Using half of the olive oil, sautee the onion until it begins to turn transluscent. Then, add in the beets, garlic, and apple cider.

In a separate pan, add in the garbanzo beans over low heat, slowly mashing them with a wooden spoon. I pulled out the clear membranes as they slipped off – I found they kept the mixture from sticking together.

When the garbanzo beans have nearly formed a puree, add them into the beet mixture, along with the seasonings and lemon juice. Continue mixing until combined.

In a separate skillet, heat the remaining olive oil and form the mixture into patties – this can make as many as four miniature sliders. When the oil begins to sizzle, add the patties into the pan.

Cook on one side for approximately 2 minutes, or until a thin crust has formed. Flip, and cook for an additional two minutes. If any of the mixture falls apart, simply reshape.

When the burgers have crisped on both sides, serve them over fresh greens, with a drizzle of fat free dressing and crumbled fat free feta.

Until next time, when I’ve properly returned to my calendar,

Melanie

 

