A Little Word on Whipped Peanut Butter

With 1/3 less sugar and no fructose corn syrup, Peter Pan peanut butter is already amazing. But with 40-50 calories less per serving than your average peanut butter, there's really nothing not to love.

It’s finals week, and I’m craving quick, sweet snacks that I don’t feel guilty about the evening after my thesis paper is due.

Recently, I discovered Peter Pan Whipped peanut butter, and it’s been more or less life-changing. Granted, peanut butter is never the thing you should eat by the spoonful (unless your my charming boyfriend) because even the best peanut butters are high in calories and full of hydrogenated vegetable oils.

Nonetheless, peanut butter is high in protein, at 6 grams a serving, and makes it a more satisfying snack option.

Peter Pan’s Whipped peanut butter has a light, airy texture which makes it super-spreadable and thus, you can cover more square footage per serving. My midnight study-snack of choice has been frozen bananas, with a dab of peanut butter. I love the texture and temperature contrast, but fresh bananas make a great base, too.

There are classic combinations that even a calorie-conscious diet cannot forgo. For this, we applaud the health-improved products that allow us to indulge without regret.

Either way, instead of 2 tablespoons, try making one last a little longer.  Using bananas or apple slices is a great way to keep this snack healthy. Above, I’ve shown a slice of banana with peanut butter, a drop of sugar-free maple syrup on a baked wheat cracker, for a little bit of crunch and that touch of salt that always serves as the perfect counterpoint to sweet, nutty peanut butter.

Peter Pan is just one example of a brand making huge strides in turning around products that were once health-taboo.

I’m always keeping my eyes peeled for these gems, and until then, I’m off for another midnight bite!

Melanie

