Balsamic Cabbage Slaw – CYOB

In addition to being very low cal, this slaw was incredibly easy to throw together, and made for a side dish.

Create Your Own Bite #2:

Balsamic Cabbage Slaw

1/2 Head of Green Cabbage

1 Medium Red Delicious Apple

1/2 Cup of Celery

1/4 Cup of Maple Grove Farms Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette

This recipe makes approximately four, 1 cup servings. Estimated calories: 60

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, all! Boston is definitely expressing its holiday spirit today, and I decided to join in on the fun, in my own way.

While walking home through Haymarket, it occurred to me that tonight would be a great night to grab a head of cabbage and make a healthy and delicious bite for dinner. My good friends were having me over for a tofu and peanut stir-fry (which was delicious!) and I wanted to contributed a fresh, light side.

After sorting through a number of online recipes, I came up with a quick, simple salad that combined some of my favorite elements from different salads and slaws.

Finely chop the cabbage, thinly slice the celery (approximately two large stalks) and cut the apple into matchsticks. The sweetness of the apple cuts the bitterness of the cabbage, and this raw preparation is a healthy way to enjoy how these ingredients interact.

Finish off this slaw by tossing in a generous quarter cup of the balsamic vinaigrette. I love Maple Grove Farms dressings – they have a wide variety of fat free flavors , including Vidalia Onion and Lime Basil, for only 10-40 calories for 2 tablespoons.

All night, I’ve been brainstorming a number of variations on this dish, including a warm preparation, by giving the celery and cabbage a quick sauté, before adding in the apples.Also, I imagine this would taste great with a handful of dried cranberries, and a toss in Maple Grove Farms’ Cranberry Balsamic Dressing.

What twists can you take on this recipe? I have a half a head of cabbage left over in my fridge, and I’d love to take a new approach the second time around.

Off to find another little bite,

Melanie

