Homemade Pumpkin Butter – CYOB

Make any bite a sweet one with a little spread of Homemade Pumpkin Butter.

Create Your Own Bite #1

Homemade Pumpkin Butter

1 15oz Can of Trader Joe’s Organic Canned Pumpkin

1 Tsp of Ground Cinnamon

1 Tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 Tsp of Vanilla Flavor

1 Tsp of Vanilla Creme Stevia

2 Tbsp of water

This recipe makes approximately thirty, 1 tablespoon servings. Estimated calories: 10

As I mentioned in my mini toast-post, ever since my last spoonful of Pecan Pumpkin Butter, I’ve been dying to get my hands on some more.  Fortunately, in my apartment my roommate and I always have miscellaneous products, such as Trader Joe’s Organic Canned Pumpkin, waiting around in the pantry for a purpose.

The great thing about this recipe is that it’s simple, sweet, and just ten calories shy of being completely guilt free. Pumpkins are loaded in dietary fiber, protein, vitamin A and C, and loads of other minerals your mind and body crave.

To prepare the spread, simply combine the canned pumpkin, spices, water, and vanilla flavor and stevia into a sauce pan.  Once all of the ingredients are incorporated, put your stove on medium and bring the mixture to a boil. Once the spread begins to bubble, reduce heat and allow it to simmer for another 5 to 10 minutes, or until the spread is smooth and buttery. Allow the pumpkin butter to cool, and then can or refrigerate.

My roommate used an old sauce jar to store our pumpkin butter, which we mostly eat by the spoonful.  Homemade pumpkin butter is also great spread on toast, mixed into your morning oatmeal with sliced pecans, or on pancakes.

Adding 2 Tbsp of Maple Grove Farms Vermont Sugar Free Maple Syrup is a great variation on this recipe.

I love incorporating seasonal flavors into my day.  What seasonal ingredients are you stocking up on?

Off to find another little bite,

Melanie

